October 4, 2012

  • debates, tv, another concert and drivel..

    Everyone at work is pro-Romney. I'm keeping quiet but the debate recap here at the office is making me cringe. I did watch last night, and yes, I thought Romney did better than I anticipated. He also, as my friend pointed out to me, looked like he'd been chugging nothing but Red Bull for 72 hours. I think Obama should have been more passionate, more engaged, and come across a bit more like he wanted to be there. He fumbled his words and looked like he was tired. That said, Obama knows his stuff and is smart and will keep trying. I imagine the next debate will be much better. The real 'loser' in my opinion was the moderator who was all around terrible. I kept wishing Will McAvoy could have been moderating...

    I'm loving The Voice. I'm 'meh' on the x-factor and I'm liking Survivor so far--though the blue team needs to stop losing like whoa, and with the exception of Skupin, I don't like the returnees very much. Did anyone see The Amazing Race? I felt SO bad for the team that came in 2nd.. SO bad. Revolution has kept my interest so far, Homeland is awesome, The Good Wife and Grey's are back.. Private Practice kinda stinks but i'll still watch it. Also, this season of the Real World Road Rules Challenge really is NOT doing it for me--but perhaps it will improve. Either way, fall television has returned full force.

    This past weekend I saw Neil Young & Crazy Horse, Foo Fighters, Band of Horses, K'naan and The Black Keys perform at Central Park. John Legend sang a song too. It was a good show. The fact that there was one booth for food per section and about a gazillion people wanting to purchase concessions in that section did mean that we ended up in line for a looooooong time. A VERY long time. But for a free show.. it was a lot of fun. After they all came back on stage for a finale version of Keep on Rocking in the Free World.. I walked out of the park and started looking for a taxi. Basically after standing from 3-10PM at the show, I then walked 30 blocks downtown and a few avenues over. I'd say maybe 2.5 miles? By the time I got home I was totally zonked. My legs felt like jello.. and I felt a bit like a wimp. I recovered on Sunday though.. it was a perfectly pj-filled day. It had been a while since i'd had one of those.

     
    Dave Grohl and Neil Young had matching flanel shirts.. Neil in red, Dave in blue.. 

    Neil Young had some great moments and some very strange ones.. i'm glad I got to see him though. 

    K'naan was probably my favorite performer of the day--though the Foo Fighters were fun too.

    There are a lot of great pictures of the show online. I didn't try too hard for good pictures. There were a lot of celebrities present as well, mostly as presenters. Kalinda from the Good Wife was one of them..    
    This week has been rainy in New York. I'm ready for some less humid and less dreary weather... fingers crossed the weekend will be nicer! Then again, 14 days from today I will be en route to Mexico for a nice vacation.... OLE!

Comments (2)

  • I don't follow politics much, but I must say that a few things Romney has said really scare the crap out of me.

  • I feel the same way as you about the debate. I don't think Romney "winning" the debate really means much especially since he pretty much lied through the entire thing. How do you debate a liar? Did you see Obama's speech the day after?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *